All glories to Sri Guru and Sri Gauranga

Srila Narahari Sarkar Thakur in Sriman Mahaprabhu's Pastimes

In glorification of Narahari Sarkar Thakur on his Disappearance day.

References from Sri Chaitanya-charitamrita.
Translation and purport by Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupad.

Adi-lila 10: The Trunk, Branches and Sub-branches of the Chaitanya Tree
Text 78-79

Sri Khandavasi Mukunda and his son Raghunandana were the thirty-ninth branch of the tree, Narahari was the fortieth, Chiranjiva the forty-first and Sulochana the forty-second. They were all big branches of the all-merciful tree of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. They distributed the fruits and flowers of love of Godhead anywhere and everywhere.

Purport by Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupad:

Sri Mukunda Das was the son of Narayan Das and eldest brother of Narahari Sarakar. His second brother’s name was Madhava Das, and his son was named Raghunandana Das...

...Narahari Das Sarakar was a very famous devotee. Lochan Das Thakur, the celebrated author of Sri Chaitanya-mangal, was his disciple. In the Chaitanya-mangal it is stated that Sri Gadadhar Das and Narahari Sarakar were extremely dear to Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, but there is no specific statement regarding the inhabitants of the village of Srikhanda.

Madhya-lila 1: The Later Pastimes of Lord‚ Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu
Text 132:

Eventually, Narahari Das and other inhabitants of Khanda, along with Shivananda Sen, all arrived, and Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu met them.

Madhya-lila 10: The Lord's Return to Jagannath Puri
Texts 88-90:

Advaita Acharya then held a festival that lasted two or three days. Thereafter, they all made a firm decision to go to Jagannath Puri.

All the devotees met together at Navadvip and, with mother Sachi's permission, departed for Niladri, Jagannath Puri.

The inhabitants of Kulina-grama - Satyaraja, Ramananda and all the other devotees there - came and joined Advaita Acharya.

Mukunda, Narahari, Raghunandana and all the others came from Khanda to Advaita Acharya's home to accompany Him to Jagannath Puri.

Madhya-lila 11: The Beda-kirtan Pastimes of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu
Text 90

Gopinath Acharya continued to point out the devotees. "Here is Suklambar. See, there is Sridhar. Here is Vijay, and there is Vallabha Sen. Here is Purusottam, and there is Sanjaya."

Text 92-93:

"Here are Mukunda Das, Narahari, Sri Raghunandana, Chiranjiva and Sulochana, all residents of Khanda.

"How many names shall I speak to you? All the devotees you see here are associates of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, who is their life and soul."

Madhya-lila 13: The Ecstatic Dancing of the Lord at Ratha-Yatra
Text 46

Another party was formed by the people of Khanda. These people were singing in a different place. In that group, Narahari Prabhu and Raghunandana were dancing.

Madhya-lila 15: The Lord Accepts Prasada at the House of Sarvabhauma Bhattacharya
Text 112:

Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu then turned His attention to three persons - Mukunda Das, Raghunandana and Sri Narahari - inhabitants of the place called Khanda.

Text 132

Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu then ordered Narahari: "I wish you to remain here with My devotees. In this way the three of you should always execute these three duties for the service of the Lord."

Purport by Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupad:

Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu set forth three duties for three different people. Mukunda was to earn money and follow the religious principles, whereas Narahari was to remain with the Lord's devotees, and Raghunandana was to engage in the Lord's service in the temple. Thus one person worships in the temple, another earns money honestly by executing his professional duty, and yet another preaches Krishna consciousness with the devotees. Apparently these three types of service appear separate, but actually they are not. When Krishna or Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu is the centre, everyone can engage in different activities for the service of the Lord. That is the verdict of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.

Antya-lila 10: Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Accepts Prasada from the Devotees
Texts 59-60:

In each of the seven groups was a principal dancer like Advaita Acharya and Lord Nityananda.

The dancers in the other groups were Vakresvar Pandit, Acyutananda, Pandit Srivas, Satyaraja Khan and Narahari Das.


To read more, please see the these sections in the online Sri Chaitanya-charitamrita of Iskcon's BBT Vedabase.

Sri Chaitanya Saraswat Math, Nabadwip | Main Centres